This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...
New Scoring Rules functionality is now available to be added to fixtures, so you can now publish or edit your fixtures for the upcoming season. Please see the relevant help guide:
Club & County Board Sites: Scoring Rules
Competition Sites: Scoring Rules 
hide announcement
Cricket Week 1936cricket week 1936
Banstead Rams v PCA England Masters August 2015 masters_2


Founded in 1842, the club is steeped in history. The story of our first 150 years is documented in John Wilcox’s informative and amusing book, “Playing on the Green. A celebration of 150 years of Banstead Cricket Club”. Copies are available from the club or Hon Secretary for a suitable donation.


Some key dates in the history of Banstead CC.


1842: Club founded. There is circumstantial evidence of a match between Mitcham and Banstead in 1840, but the first documented evidence is of a match between Banstead and Twickenham on 25th July 1842.


1847: Our earliest scorebook reveals a match played against Bromley.


1850: The Avenue Road ground came into existence, with construction of the square funded by Sir George Glyn.


1892: Pavilion (our current changing rooms) opened


1899: Avenue Road ground land purchased by Hon Francis Baring, and trust deed set up handing over management to a board of managers.


1900: WG Grace plays at Banstead


1932: after a quiet period in the 20’s, the third XI was re-formed


1936: the club expands further with a 4th XI


1939 – 1945: the war years did not stop the club from functioning, and a celebration event was held to mark the Club’s centenary in 1942, and records show that future Surrey players Derek and Ron Pratt joined as juniors.


1946: by 1946 the club had 353 members.


1964: Our second ground, known as The Rosehill ground, was purchased for £4000, and opened for play in 1966.


1968: League cricket introduced with 18 founder clubs. A 5th XI with regular fixtures was started.


1970; our “new” pavilion, formerly Barclay’s Banstead temporary bank building, was opened. In 1971, the old pavilion was refurbished as changing rooms.


1975: two members each take all 10 wickets John Jake v Sutton, and John Wilcox v Beddington. The later event overshadowed Mike Carver’s maiden ton on the same day! The Condie family also took all wickets and catches in a match against Old Paulines in the same year.


1977: our first lower XI club tour – to Kent!


1982: Banstead win the Warwick Wright twenty over competition, aided by a hundred in the final by David Ward, and go on to win the trophy again in 1983, 1988, 1996 and 1998.


1984: First class cricket comes to Banstead when Surrey plays Cambridge University June 26th – 29th. A remarkable event when two debutants to 1st class cricket both made their maiden centuries in the same innings – Nick Falkner (of Banstead 101* and Keith Medlycott 117* This was at the time the only time this had happened in English cricket, and only the 4th time ever.


1986: 1st XI wins the Surrey Championship.


1988: the 3rd XI joins the Surrey Championship.


1991: The club joins forces with Reigate Hockey club to enable winter use of the facilities. This ran until 1995 and was replaced by a rental arrangement with football in 1996.


1996: The clubhouse is refurbished and the terrace is built.


1997: The 2nd XI wins division 1 of the Surrey Championship 2nd XI league. The 4th XI joins the Surrey Cricket league, and in 2002 gain promotion as runners up in division 5.


1998: 3rd XI wins division 1 of the third XI league.


2000: Banstead U15s win the National U15 Championship.


2008: Banstead is awarded Clubmark accreditation, and in the same year the 1st XI is promoted to the ECB premier division of the Surrey Championship.


2010: The 2nd XI is promoted to the premier division of the Surrey Championship – all three Championship sides are now in the premier division of their league.


2014 The 4th XI wins regional division and are promoted to their premier division of the Surrey Championship


2015 Banstead hosts the PCA Masters XI

2017 our 175th Anniversary






Banstead Players in First Class Cricket




Career Span

David Fletcher


1946 -1961

Ron Pratt


1952 -1959

Derek Pratt


1959 -1974

Nick Falkner

Surrey, Sussex

1984 -1989

David Ward


1985 -2001

Andy Babbington

Gloucestershire, Sussex

1986 -1994

Neil Kendrick

Surrey, Gloucestershire

1988 -1996

Scott Newman

Surrey, Middlesex, England ‘A’

2002 - 2012

Stephen Moore

Sussex, Worcestershire, Lancashire

2003 - 2014

Rory Hamilton-Brown

Sussex, Surrey

2007 - 2014

Matthew Spriegel

Surrey, Northamptonshire

2008 - 2014

Thomas Lancefield

Surrey, Glamorgan

2010 - 2014

Rory Burns



Freddie Van Den Bergh


                       2011 -


First Class  players who have played for Banstead




Career Span




Ron Outridge

Trinidad & Tobago

1956 - 1957

Roy Swetman

Surrey & England

1953 – 1974

Jack Richards

Surrey, Orange Free State & England

1976 - 1988

Mackie Hobson

Border, Transvaal

1985 - 1996

Paul Atkins

Kwazulu Natal, Surrey

1988 - 2007

Michael Vandrau

Derbyshire, Transvaal

1990 -1997

Mark Atkinson

Western Australia

1992 - 1999

David Terbrugge

Gauteng, Lions, Transvaal & South Africa

1994 - 2005

James Knott


1995 - 1998

Wayne Kidwell

Gauteng, Griqualand West, Transvaal

1995 - 2002

Zander de Bruyn

Worcestershire, Somerset & South Africa

1995 - 2014

Andy Paterson

Surrey, Sussex & Ireland

1996 - 2000

Mark Paterson

Surrey, Sussex & Ireland

1996 - 1999

Rupesh Amin

Surrey, Leicestershire

1997 - 2003

Andrew Hodd

Surrey, Sussex, Lancashire

2003 -

Mark Houghton


2007 - 2014